hearts exploding with love: wild violets

”]”A small mostly hidden purple violet in a sea of green grass

Today I was talking with a dear friend of mine about makingmaking making herbal medicines this summer.   Well…I was kind of talking at her because I’m so very excited about this summer and all the amazing possibilities of wild food, gardening, herbs and sunshine!  (I guess I’m pretty much always this excited in springtime!)   I was saying that I wanted to find a large-ish patch of wild violets to make violet tincture from (and eat the leaves and generally be in worship of these beautiful little plants).

Later in the evening, my family and I were in our yard and I was looking more closely at what was growing in the grass.   Chickweed! Dandelions!  And then I noticed, wild violets.

A whole huge patch a wild violets just about to burst into bloom!   I would have missed them if I hadn’t been making an effort to look closely at our grass!  Wild, medicinal plants in my urban yard.

I’ll make tincture this weekend if the flowers bloom (if the flowers consent to be made into medcine)!

We rent our home and our landlords are really awesome people.   They bought this house for their daughter and she lived in the upstairs apartment (we live downstairs) all last year.  She’s away this winter, but will be back soon.  She and I were planning to make a garden around the tree that the violets are next to  this year (it’s roots keep getting nicked with the lawn mower and she wants to make sure it stay healthy).   I’m hoping that I’ll be able to arrange things  with her so that the wild violets can continue to grow wehere they are!

I mentioned it to our new upstairs neighbours and one of them said “Imagine if we just let all our lawns grow, what treasures we would find!”

I feel like my heart is exploding with love for wild plants, for wildness!  And some sadness, always some sadness for the wild things.

2 responses to “hearts exploding with love: wild violets

  1. I bet you are really looking forward to gardening this year with your landlords’ daughter — and finding the abundance of Wild Violets, that is lovely! We used to have many of them growing in our area I remember while growing up, and thought it was really neat how I learned they were used in decoration on food dishes. I hope we get some here again this year in our yard.

    Have fun, and many blessings )O(
    ~Shamanic Winds xo

    P.S. My Herbal Ally 2011 Blogger is located at: http://practicalherbalismgoldenrod.blogspot.com/
    I noticed under your “Herbal Ally Challenge!” that my link goes to my WordPress blog, and that one is different than the one I am using for my Herbal Ally; I must’ve been signed in under WordPress before when I had commented on your blog here, lol!

    • Thanks for your comment! I do love the violets – I never ate them before and they are so amazingly delicious!
      I’ll change that link right now! I’ve actually been reading that one but somehow didn’t connect it together!

Leave a Reply

