mother mother mother

I was finally able to take a walk this weekend by the river to find some wild motherwort plants!

First I left the male parts of my family in a muddy river bed.

Classic and messy.

Then I headed down the path near the river where I saw…

Trees chewed by beavers.    Now, this wouldn’t be such a terribly strange site, except that I live in a fair sized city and have never seen a beaver.  There were plenty of beaver chewed trees though, so they must be living nearby somewhere.

As I was walking towards the area that my friend told me there was some motherwort, I saw this graffiti:

Love youself.

And then I happened upon motherwort

Lots  of small patches, all of them very close to the main bike/walking path.

Still very close tot he ground, but definately growing now that the snow has finally (hopefully) passed for  the year.

I couldn’t find a patch that was sufficiently off the path to not be interrupted by passerby’s while meditating with it.  So, instead, I just sat down near one and drew some pictures, held gratitude for its being and generally enjoyed the sunshine.

The motherwort I saw doesn’t like to hide – it’s out in the open near the edges of paths walked by humans just waiting for someone to take notice of it’s beauty.  Love yourself. I know it’ll grow much taller and it lives near other tall plants (I saw goldenrod and a few others that I don’t know the name of, but do know that they grow tall).

I love this plant.  No shy, but not showy. Not hiding, but able to blend with the other plants nearby.

All the plants were too small to harvest from yet, but soon!     Instead I harvested some beautiful white pine needles to make pine vinegar.  And I made another preparation of wild violet tincture.   I’ve been eating SO many wild violets – our yard is very very full of them.    My son also loves to eat the purple blossoms and finds them whenever we go outside!

This week we’re going to visit my parents which means plenty of nature walks!  My dad has scouted out patchs of fiddleheads and wild leeks so hopefully we’ll be able to pick some while we’re there!

2 responses to “mother mother mother

  1. So many blessings to you, dear…I had totally forgotten that you were doing your Herbal Ally as Motherwort — and recently, there had been an unidentified plant in our yard, not an abundance of it, but several good-sized bunches of it. I didn’t know what it was and posted some pics of it on Facebook for some other new and adept Herbalists to look at and see if we could all try and see what it was. A few had thrown out the thought of it as being ‘young’ Motherwort, so I got up some other pics of it, and kept seeing ‘flowering’ Motherwort…and then I finally did see and compared it to that of another that was also ‘young’; I was soooo excited to finally KNOW what it was!!! Now I’ve read a little but not much further that one should wait to harvest the leaves just before the ‘flowering’ process starts…but do you think or have you done any harvesting with a small bunch of young Motherwort yet for anything? Since we don’t have too much of it, and I haven’t gone Wildcrafting to see if there’s any more in the other woods around us, I may just have to be patient and wait to try my first Tincture of Motherwort later on in the season.

    I tasted my first Violet, yum, we have a lot of those growing here also in our yard — but the other day, my fiance mowed the lawn, so I must wait again until they start growing back again.

    What are you going to use your White Pine Vinegar for? We have a few of those Pines, I believe, in our yard — they are still young themselves, and this past Winter into Spring, I was out there rubbing my fingers on the needles after it had snowed, an oh, they smelled so fresh and sweet!!! Have you ever used them as a ‘Smudge’ before? I want to save some, too, dry it — and use it in the fireplace next time we have one. The only thing with that is, use too much of it, and the Pine needles resin is sticky, and may clog the sides of the fireplace with the stickiness.

    Keep up the good work, I love reading your blogs, dear!
    )O( Shamanic Winds xo

  2. I haven’t used any of the early leafy motherwort for anything yet – although Susan Weed recommmends it for making vinegar. I intend to do just that, hopefully this week I’ll get down by the river again!

    As for white pine vinegar, I just use in the place of regular vinegar – for salad dressings and the like – it’s tastes very much like balsamic vinegar!
    I haven’t made pine into smudge but that’s a great idea! White pine is also makes an awesome tea full of vitamin C!

Leave a Reply

